Thymolphthalein (Aus/F)

fotka Thymolphthalein



Anthony Pateras: piano, syntheszier
Jérôme Noetinger:
tape machines, electronics
Natasha Anderson: recorders, sensors, computer
Clayton Thomas: double bass
Will Guthrie: drums


Since 2009, Thymolphthalein has explored the grass between the cracks - the fertile wasteland between structure and freedom.  Taking their name from a key ingredient in disappearing ink, game plans are established and destroyed, paths cleared then obscured, musical links cemented and ruptured.  Electronic and acoustic personas rub together to produce a special kind of tension between utopian pasts and and broken futures.

Anthony Pateras is a prolific, multi-facted composer with an interest in analogue modular systems and extended piano. Jérôme Noetinger   is the originator of live Revox techniques in an improvised context, developed over two decades with his seminal audio-visual group Metamkine. Natasha Anderson splices a performance history in Baroque music with digital signal processing and a unique compositional focus on the uncanny.  Clayton Thomas infuses his virtuosic bass technique and tone with obsessions running though hip-hop, R&B and jazz, combined with a dedication to playing any musician who seeks to challenge.  Will Guthrie is one of the few drummers who can boast a history in jazz, flamenco, hip-hop and noise, widely regarded as one of the driving forces of Australian free music.


Having featured initially at the SWR New Jazz Meeting in Baden-Baden, the group has go on to perform at major creative music festivals throughout Europe and Australia.  The quintet's first album Ni Maître Ni Marteau was released by Editions Mego in 2011.